- The Number: 58 out of 100
- How the 110 Items Break Down
- What the ICB Manual Does Not Specify
- Where the 100 Scored Points Live
- The Practical Exam Is Part of Passing
- Building a 58-Point Strategy Around the Blueprint
- Retesting, Renewal, and Staying Certified
- A Note on Manual Version Numbers
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The TABB Technician written exam requires 58 correct out of 100 scored items to pass.
- The exam contains 110 items total: 100 scored plus 10 unscored beta items you cannot identify.
- Air System TAB Procedures carries 25% of the blueprint, the largest single domain.
- Passing the written exam alone does not certify you; the ICB manual also requires a practical exam.
The Number: 58 out of 100
If you are preparing for the TABB Technician (TABB-T) credential issued under the Sheet Metal Industry International Certification Board (ICB), the passing standard is refreshingly concrete: you need 58 of the 100 scored items correct. That is the written-exam threshold stated in the ICB Certification Manual for the TABB Technician test.
Expressed as a proportion, 58 out of 100 is 58%. Because the scored pool is exactly 100 items, the raw number and the percentage are identical, which makes progress tracking simple. You do not need to translate scaled scores or guess at a curve. Every scored question you answer correctly is one point toward 58.
This article focuses on what the passing standard means in practice, how the 110-item format works, and how to organize your preparation around the official blueprint. For a broader view of exam difficulty, see our guide on how hard the TABB-T exam is.
How the 110 Items Break Down
The written exam consists of 110 items. Of those, 100 are scored and 10 are unscored beta items. Beta items are questions the certifying body is trialing for future exam forms. They are mixed in with the scored questions, and candidates are not told which is which.
| Component | Count | Effect on Your Result |
|---|---|---|
| Total written items | 110 | What you will see on the exam |
| Scored items | 100 | Determine pass or fail |
| Unscored beta items | 10 | No effect on your score |
| Passing standard | 58 of 100 scored | Minimum correct answers needed |
What the Beta Items Mean for Your Approach
Because you cannot tell which ten questions are unscored, treat every question as if it counts. A question that seems unusually obscure or oddly worded might be a beta item, but you should not spend your time trying to guess. Give each item your best answer and move on. Do not let a strange question shake your confidence for the next one.
It also means you should not calculate your running score during the exam. Since 10 of the 110 items you see will not count, any attempt to track "how many I have right out of 110" will mislead you. The only meaningful target is 58 correct among the scored items, and you will not know exactly which those are.
What the ICB Manual Does Not Specify
A good passing-score article should be honest about gaps. The cited ICB scheme section for the TABB Technician credential does not specify several details candidates often ask about. Rather than guess, here is what is and is not stated:
- Current exam fee: Not specified in the cited scheme section. Confirm directly with ICB before budgeting. Our TABB-T certification cost breakdown walks through the cost categories to plan around.
- Testing provider: Not specified in the cited scheme section.
- Written exam duration: Not specified in the cited scheme section.
- Historical pass rate: Not specified. No official figure is provided in the cited material, so any number you see quoted should be treated with caution. See what the data shows about the TABB-T pass rate for a careful discussion.
- Other special conditions: Not specified in the cited scheme section.
The ICB Certification Manual addresses written exam administration, reference materials, scoring, retesting, and the practical assessment in sections 3.5.1 through 3.5.5. Those sections are your authoritative source for procedural questions, and you should read them directly rather than rely on secondhand summaries. The official certification page is at icbcertified.org/certification.
Where the 100 Scored Points Live
The ICB TABB Technician Test Blueprint (physical pages 70 through 73 of the manual PDF) assigns official weights to six content domains. Understanding where the scored points concentrate is the most valuable thing you can do with a 58-point target.
| Domain | Weight | Approx. Share of 100 Scored Items |
|---|---|---|
| Heat Flow | 15% | About 15 items |
| Fans, Air Distribution, Devices, & Systems | 20% | About 20 items |
| Hydronic Equipment & Systems | 15% | About 15 items |
| Electrical Systems | 10% | About 10 items |
| Air System TAB Procedures | 25% | About 25 items |
| Hydronic System TAB Procedures | 15% | About 15 items |
The item counts above are approximations derived from the weights applied to 100 scored items; the manual states the percentage weights, so treat the counts as a planning aid rather than a guaranteed per-form distribution. For a full walkthrough of each content area, read our complete guide to all 6 TABB-T exam domains.
Air System TAB Procedures (25%)
The heaviest domain on the blueprint, and the one that most directly mirrors daily field work for a testing, adjusting, and balancing technician.
- Procedures for measuring and adjusting airflow in duct systems
- Instrument selection and use for air-side measurements
- Interpreting results against design values and recording findings
- Duct leakage considerations referenced in the SMACNA HVAC Air Duct Leakage Test Manual
Fans, Air Distribution, Devices, & Systems (20%)
The second-largest domain, covering the equipment and distribution components that TAB procedures act upon.
- Fan operation and how system conditions affect performance
- Air distribution devices and how they behave in a system
- System types and how components interact
Hydronic Equipment & Systems and Hydronic System TAB Procedures (15% each)
Together these two domains account for 30% of the blueprint, as much as the air-side procedures domain plus a further five points.
- Hydronic equipment and system arrangements
- Hydronic flow measurement and adjustment procedures
- How the equipment knowledge and the procedural knowledge connect
Heat Flow (15%) and Electrical Systems (10%)
Foundational science and electrical knowledge that support the other four domains.
- Heat flow concepts underlying building environmental systems
- Electrical fundamentals relevant to the equipment a TAB technician measures
Why Air and Hydronic Procedures Combine to 40%
Add the two procedures domains together, 25% for air and 15% for hydronic, and 40% of your scored items test how to perform TAB work. That is the single largest block of the exam. A candidate who has strong equipment knowledge but limited hands-on procedural familiarity is exposed on this part of the test. Conversely, field-experienced technicians often find the procedures domains comfortable and may need to spend more time on the science and electrical domains.
The Practical Exam Is Part of Passing
It is easy to fixate on 58 out of 100 and forget the bigger picture. The ICB Certification Manual explicitly requires both written and practical exams for the TABB Technician credential. Scoring 58 or higher on the written test clears one requirement, not the whole certification.
The practical component tests whether you can actually perform TAB tasks, not just answer questions about them. Plan your preparation accordingly: written study time for the blueprint domains, and hands-on time with instruments and procedures. If you are weighing whether the full process is worth the effort, our TABB-T ROI analysis and salary guide cover the career side.
Eligibility and prerequisites are a separate question from the passing score. Review TABB-T requirements and how to qualify before you register.
Building a 58-Point Strategy Around the Blueprint
Because the blueprint is weighted, your study hours should be weighted too. This is the one place where a scheduling framework earns a spot, and it is tied directly to the TABB-T domains.
Foundations First: Heat Flow and Electrical Systems
- Cover the 25% of the blueprint that supports everything else
- Build vocabulary and formulas you will reuse in later weeks
Equipment Knowledge: Fans, Air Distribution, and Hydronic Equipment
- Study fan behavior, distribution devices, and hydronic equipment together with their system context
- These domains total 35% of the blueprint
Procedures Block: Air (25%) then Hydronic (15%)
- Spend the most time on air system TAB procedures, the largest single domain
- Follow with hydronic procedures while the equipment concepts are fresh
Full-Blueprint Review
- Take mixed-domain practice sets and review every miss against its domain
- Re-weight remaining time toward your weakest domain
For a fuller plan, see our TABB-T study guide for first-attempt success, and keep our one-page TABB-T cheat sheet handy for last-minute review.
Reference Documents Worth Knowing
The scheme identifies guiding documents for the credential:
- HVAC Systems Testing Adjusting and Balancing Manual, Fourth Edition (2023), SMACNA
- HVAC Systems Application, Second Edition (2010), SMACNA
- HVAC Air Duct Leakage Test Manual, Second Edition (2012), SMACNA
Familiarity with these documents will help you recognize the terminology and procedures the exam draws on. Whether and how reference materials may be used during the written exam is addressed in the ICB manual's administration and reference-materials sections, so check those sections rather than assuming.
Key Takeaway
Use the weights as a budget. Roughly one in four scored items comes from Air System TAB Procedures, and another 40% overall comes from the two procedures domains combined. Make sure your weakest domain is not also one of your heaviest.
Retesting, Renewal, and Staying Certified
The ICB Certification Manual covers retesting in section 3.5 along with scoring and administration. If you fall short of 58 on a first attempt, the manual is the place to confirm the current retest conditions and any waiting requirements; this article does not state specifics because they are not given in the cited scheme summary.
Once certified, the credential is not permanent. Technician renewal requires 4 continuing education units (CEUs) during the certification period, plus renewal materials submitted before the credential expires. Build that into your long-term plan so a lapse does not force you to start over. For ongoing development options, see our page on TABB-T training.
Employers that value the credential tend to be firms performing testing, adjusting, and balancing of air and hydronic building systems, along with mechanical contractors and building-systems service companies. To see how the certification translates into roles, browse our overview of TABB-T jobs. If you are new to the credential itself, start with what TABB-T certification is.
A Note on Manual Version Numbers
There is a small discrepancy worth knowing about in the official source document. The cover page and latest revision history of the ICB Certification Manual identify Version 241024, approved October 24, 2024. However, the Document Profile Table inside the same PDF still lists Version 240429 as current.
We are preserving that conflict rather than resolving it ourselves. For a candidate, the practical advice is simple: download the current manual from ICB's website, note which version you are reading, and confirm with ICB if a detail you depend on, such as the 58-of-100 standard or the 110-item format, matters to a decision you are about to make. The blueprint pages (70 through 73) are where the weights and domain definitions appear.
Frequently Asked Questions
You need 58 correct answers out of the 100 scored items. The exam presents 110 items in total, but 10 are unscored beta items that do not count toward your result.
No. The 10 unscored items are mixed in with the 100 scored ones, and candidates are not told which are which. Answer every question as though it counts.
No. The ICB Certification Manual explicitly requires both written and practical exams. A written pass satisfies only the written portion of the process, so plan for the practical assessment as well.
Air System TAB Procedures, at 25% of the blueprint. Combined with Hydronic System TAB Procedures at 15%, procedures-based content makes up 40% of the scored items.
The cited ICB scheme section does not specify the current fee, the testing provider, or the written exam duration. Confirm those details directly with ICB when you register, and review the cost breakdown for budgeting context.